2nd Pod – Quite an Adjustment

So, a quick update. I started my 2nd pod a day early, for two reasons.  I used insulin from a batch of pens that I knew to be questionable, (why? trying to use up my least favorite first… seems silly now!) which seemed to be very slow-acting, sometimes 2 hours to start, when Humalog is supposed to start within 30 minutes.  Now I’m trying insulin from a box of cartridges that I know has worked well very recently.

Also, the site I chose was less than optimal. I forgot that I had tried and not liked this same area for my Dexcom CGM sensors – just above the hip, towards the back. Also, unfortunately, I placed it thinking it was high enough to be above my waistline, but ended up placing it right where my pant’s waist hits, so it was uncomfortable with clothes on, and uncomfortable at night sleeping on that side as well. Plus, there was redness and irritation in the area where the tiny plastic tube stays under the skin dosing the insulin. I forget the technical name for that…

diabetes, insulin pump, omnipod, type 1 diabetes,

post pod #1

So, on to pod #2, placed on the back of my arm, which already feels much better. Just sitting down on the couch is comfortable again! My blood sugars have been a bit all-over, but I think I’m starting to get a handle on this new system. Last night my CGM woke me with a low, and it went off 3 times in 45 minutes (and this after eating 2 of my 15-carb cookies – whole wheat fig bars from Costco, my favorite nighttime low treatment, because I can eat it in 2 bites). I realized this is what the temporary basal rate is for! So I changed it for 3 hours, and woke up about 5 hours later around 140, which I was happy enough with for today.  The first night I’d had 3 separate lows, so this was an improvement.

insulin pump, omnipod, type 1 diabetes, pumping insulin,

Pod #2 – back of my arm. These are big!

insulin pump, omnipod, type 1 diabetes, pumping insulin,

Trying the arm this time!

I still woke up today feeling frustrated, like using the pump may not be worth it, but I’m going to give it a few weeks at least, and see how it goes.

I’m still having doubts about the superficial, yet real, aspect of having this unattractive plastic pod stuck on my body, and how uncomfortable I feel about that. This is for another post coming soon!

3 thoughts on “2nd Pod – Quite an Adjustment

  1. Sara

    Give it time….and use good insulin. I know. I do the same thing – that stuff is costly. I agree that the pod is huge, which is why I prefer the tubes..at least the site on your body is tiny and you can disconnect any time. If you can get over the attachment aspect, you may come to love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Lucia Maya Post author

      Thanks Sara. Good to hear. I’m grateful Penny gave me some of her extra pump supplies, so I can try it out this way. Kaiser only covers 50% of the costs.

      I may get a donated Medtronic pump to try as well, which would be amazing to be able to try both (not at the same time obviously 🙂 )!

      I really like the Asante Snap, but they’re not in Hawaii yet. Strange, I can’t even buy one if I wanted because they don’t have a rep here…I don’t understand how all this works…Thanks again for your input!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: wearing an insulin pump (and not hating it!) | Lucia's Life with Diabetes

Leave a Reply

